Standard Best of Three and Last Chance Gauntlet

Ready to test your strats and stretch your brain? Then look no further than the Gauntlet! We're guessing you've got a couple questions, so let's dive straight into it.

What is the Gauntlet?


Legends of Runeterra’s Gauntlet is a tournament-like game mode that allows players to practice the competitive ruleset to better prepare—and even qualify—for seasonal tournaments. The Gauntlet goes live every weekend and lasts around four days.

There are two Gauntlet modes: the Standard Gauntlet Best of Three and the Last Chance Gauntlet. Both follow the same rules, but victory in the Last Chance Gauntlet could qualify you for the seasonal tournament. But more on that later. First…

How to Play

Both the Standard and Last Chance Gauntlet follow a Pick and Ban, Best of 3 format. At the start of each Gauntlet, you'll pick 3 of your decks.


The decks you choose must follow these rules:

  1. No champion can be duplicated between decks.
  2. Every deck must have a different combination of regions.
  3. You can only have one champion-less deck.

Once you’ve chosen your decks and have entered the Gauntlet, you and your opponent will ban one of the other’s decks, leaving you both with two decks to choose from for the upcoming battle. From there, you’ll go toe-to-toe in a Best of 3 match—the first to win 2 out of 3 battles wins the match.


Completing the Gauntlet

Standard Best of Three Gauntlet

To complete the Standard Gauntlet, you must win 4 matches. If you lose two consecutive matches, your run is done. But don't despair, because another Gauntlet is right around the corner.


Last Chance Gauntlet

The Last Chance Gauntlet lives up to its name by giving you only one shot at making through unscathed. Not only that, but the stakes are higher—you must win 5 matches to make it to the end. Lose two consecutive matches in rounds 1-4 or lose the final match and your Gauntlet run will end in a loss.


Having the mettle to compete in either the Standard of Last Chance Gauntlet will earn you the exclusive Gauntlet Competitor icon.


Not only that, but if you complete the Gauntlet, you'll earn the exclusive Gauntlet Conqueror icon!



Aside from the standard XP distribution (100 XP max for Victory, 50 XP for a lost match, and 0 XP for 0 wins), you'll earn bonus XP based on how far you get in the Gauntlet. That breaks down like so:

  • 0 wins: 0 XP
  • 1 win: 200 XP
  • 2 wins: 500 XP
  • 3 wins: 800 XP
  • 4 wins: 1200 XP
  • 5 wins: 1600 XP (Last Chance Gauntlet only)

Prime Glory & Seasonal Tournament Qualifications


Every time you complete the Standard Best of Three Gauntlet on your first try, you’ll gain a Prime Glory. You can earn up to 4 Prime Glories over the course of a season, with each granting you a bonus win in the Last Chance Gauntlet. Be one of the first 324 players to complete the Last Chance Gauntlet in your region to qualify for the Seasonal Tournament.

Was this article helpful?

Can’t find what you’re looking for?

From tech to tilt, we're here to help you! Submit a Ticket! So long as it doesn't fall through a portal, we'll get back to you soon.

/ Submit a Ticket